Who We Are

Executive Committee

Michigan Drug Discovery

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee comprises scientific, medical, and commercialization experts from the College of Pharmacy, the Life Sciences Institute, the Medical School, Innovation Partnerships, and the Rogel Cancer Center. The committee works to help researchers and advance new therapeutics into the clinic and strengthen the drug discovery enterprise at U-M.

Roger Cone, PhD

Interim Chair, Michigan Drug Discovery; Vice Provost and Director of the Biosciences Initiative; Mary Sue Coleman Director of the Life Sciences Institute; Research Professor, Life Sciences Institute; Professor of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts; Professor of Molecular and Integrative Physiology, Medical School

Pierre Coulombe, PhD

G Carl Huber Professor of Developmental Biology; Chair, Department of Cell and Developmental Biology; Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology and Professor of Dermatology, Medical School

Tiefei Dong, PhD

Director of Therapeutic Partnerships, Innovation Partnerships

Eric R. Fearon, MD, PhD

Director, Rogel Cancer Center; Emanuel N Maisel Professor of Oncology; Professor of Internal Medicine, Professor of Pathology, and Professor of Human Genetics, Medical School

Lori Isom, PhD

Chair, Department of Pharmacology; Maurice H Seevers Collegiate Professor of Pharmacology; Professor of Pharmacology, Professor of Molecular and Integrative Physiology, and Professor of Neurology, Medical School

Steve Kunkel, PhD

Executive Vice Dean for Research, U-M Medical School; Chief Scientific Officer, Michigan Medicine; Peter A Ward Distinguished University Professor and Endowed Professor of Pathology Research

Jolanta Grembecka, PhD

Professor of Pathology, Richard and Susan Rogel Professor in Cancer Therapeutics, Co-Leader of Developmental Therapeutics Program, Rogel Cancer Center, Department of Pathology, Professor affiliated with the Medicinal Chemistry and Program in Chemical Biology graduate programs.

Bradley J. Martin, PhD

Managing Director, Fast Forward Medical Innovation

Vicki Ellingrod, PharmD, FCCP, FACNP

Dean and John Gideon Searle Professor of Pharmacy, College of Pharmacy; Professor of Psychiatry, Medical School; and Adjunct Professor of Psychology, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

Charles A. Parkos, MD, PhD

Chair, Department of Pathology, Medical School; Carl Vernon Weller Professor of Pathology, Professor of Pathology

Jonathan Sexton, PhD

Assistant Professor, Internal Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology; Assistant Professor, College of Pharmacy, Medicinal Chemistry; Faculty Lead, Michigan Institute for Clinical & Health Research, MICHR, Drug Repurposing

James Shayman, MD

Agnes C and Frank D McKay Professor, Professor of Pharmacology and Professor of Internal Medicine, Medical School

David H. Sherman, PhD

Hans W Vahlteich Professor of Medicinal Chemistry, Professor of Medicinal Chemistry, College of Pharmacy; Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, Medical School; Professor of Chemistry, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts; Research Professor, Life Sciences Institute

Shaomeng Wang, PhD

Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor of Medicine, Professor of Internal Medicine and Professor of Pharmacology, Medical School; Professor of Medicinal Chemistry, College of Pharmacy

Max Wicha, MD, PhD

Director, Forbes Institute for Cancer Discovery; Madeline and Sidney Forbes Professor of Oncology and Professor of Internal Medicine, Medical School